Author Topic: Should most spot colors go on a 110 mesh?  (Read 1821 times)

Offline Mark @ Hurricane Printing

Should most spot colors go on a 110 mesh?
« on: March 16, 2012, 03:34:33 PM »
(note - I am a beginner) I have a very simple design...blue text within the outline of a house, on a light colored shirt...i was thinking 110 mesh would be good but I am being told to go with a 200...reason being the 110 lays down a lot of ink, which is something I did consider when I thought of using a 110....but I would have never thought a 200 mesh would be good for a simple one color spot job...seems like a high thread count for a spot color.
Mark

Offline Sbrem

• Ludicrous Speed Member
Re: Should most spot colors go on a 110 mesh?
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2012, 03:37:44 PM »
If you're a beginner, then 110 will be a bit easier for you, but it will be a heavy print. When I started out, I preferred 140-156 for that kind of stuff. 200 will be good, IF, you have a very tight screen...

Steve
I made a mistake once; I thought I was wrong about something; I wasn't

Offline Hegemone

• Verified/Junior
Should most spot colors go on a 110 mesh?
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2012, 03:39:16 PM »
I use water base and I like 110 for opaque white and 156 for most other colors I would only go up to 200 if there is a tone of superfine detail. Stencil thickness also effects the among of ink laid down.
(mikel@)(www.) 1PartArt1PartTee.com

Offline Prosperi-Tees

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
  • Common Sense - Get Some
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2012, 03:40:45 PM »
You need tight screens to do spot color work on high mesh. I have some worn out 230s that if done with spot color will wave and not have a sharp print but they will definitly give you a nicer hand.

Offline Mark @ Hurricane Printing

« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2012, 04:01:54 PM »
Thnaks gang....I was told to go with a 200...and a few of you agree with that choice...so I'll go with it! Thanks for the responses!
Mark

Offline Frog

• Administrator