Author Topic: starlight exposure unit + emulsion type (exposure times)  (Read 4992 times)

Offline tuanoooo

starlight exposure unit + emulsion type (exposure times)
« on: November 29, 2014, 11:16:25 PM »
hey i was wondering if anyone has a starlight unit and would like to share their exposure time. Im new to the industry. I was wondering the exposure time on the emulsions that you are currently using. I just ordered one of these like 4 weeks ago they told me Dec. 1st is the shipment date. Any info would be appreciated! :)

Offline Mr Tees!!

Re: starlight exposure unit + emulsion type (exposure times)
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2014, 11:24:48 PM »
...I have a Starlight. I use CCI WR-14 emulsion (diazo-type), and expose all meshes @ 40 sec. When I first got the Starlight, I was burning at about 25 sec, but I add the extra 15 sec for insurance, in case I decide to run an order with waterbase and/or discharge inks.

...if you are running a Photopolymer emulsion, I have seen times anywhere between 2-12 seconds.
Thanks TSB gang!!

...Sean, Mr Tees!!!

Offline tuanoooo

« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2014, 11:41:46 PM »
awesome. Thanks Mr. Tees im actually new to all of this so everything is new to me. Also fast question i have very little knowledge about emulsion brands and type. Since you said you are using diazo type. whats the difference between that and just a photopolymer?

Offline Mr Tees!!

« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2014, 12:45:26 AM »
I'm posting from a phone, which I don't type well on, but here's a good overview:

[url]http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=QUNjF7XB7AM/[url]

Basically, I found the exposure speed of photopolymers (PP as they are sometimes called) to be problematic when exposed with these new LED units. Its very easy to overexpose, and most using PP & LED exposure are using different exposure times for each different mesh counts. For me, its easier to have a slightly longer exposure time and keep it the same across all mesh counts.