Author Topic: I finally found a deal on some M3 roller frames  (Read 5200 times)

Offline Doug S

• Gonzo Member
I finally found a deal on some M3 roller frames
« on: December 16, 2012, 11:14:40 AM »
The other day I picked up some 25x36 M3 frames.  I also bought a L3 rollermaster to stretch them with.  My question is about the mesh.  I know the flash panels would be easier to stretch with me being a newbie.  They are a bit costly even though I'll probably make up the cost difference in time saved, but how do they compare to other meshes such as murimaki mesh as far as ink lay down etc.  I don't want to sacrafice quality for "easier".   I know this is job specific but if you were to start off all over again with newman roller frames, what would your choice be on mesh type saaiti, muramaki etc?  Also, would you use flash panels or bolt mesh?  I'm completely new to roller frames and the roller master so I'm pretty excited but I want to start off on the right track. 

Doug
It's not a job if you love doing it.

Offline tpitman

• Gonzo Member
Re: I finally found a deal on some M3 roller frames
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2012, 11:52:11 AM »
I'd go with panels. Having busted as much mesh as I've successfully stretched with bolt mesh, the panels are probably almost as cheap in the long haul. But that's me. I've got some older frames still meshed up with bolt mesh, but anymore all I buy are panels. For the life of me I don't know why I have so much trouble because I follow the instructions explicitly. Low counts, like 110 or 83 aren't an issue, though.
Work is the curse of the drinking class . . .

Offline Printficient

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2012, 11:55:16 AM »