Author Topic: Changing to waterbased...  (Read 1641 times)

Offline Joshua

Changing to waterbased...
« on: February 27, 2017, 11:00:39 AM »
Morning, everyone!

I'm at a decent sized shop (4 M&R sportsmans, 4 diamondbacks, and 4 sprint 3000 dryers) and have been tasked with mapping out the possibility of a change from plastisol to WB.  I have some experience with WB, but am by no means an expert.  I have come up with a list of what (I believe) we will need to enact the change and was hoping for some feedback.

First would be the "relearning" for the guys on the floor.  Not leaving the screens with ink in them, not stepping away, upping their speeds, proper curing, proper mixing of inks and discharge, etc.  This shouldn't be too bad since we've got a pretty solid crew around here.

Next would be the necessary equipment.  Scales for measuring the discharge agent, emulsion that can handle the new inks, smaller buckets (quart size?) for mixing.

Last would be any improvements (if needed) to the facility in regards to ventilation for the discharge.

Also, I have seen that some places have a dedicated ink tech.  We use off the shelf inks (either rutland or one-stroke, both plastisol) for all of our prints, so we do not have an ink tech.  Is this a position that is needed if we swap over ink types?

Thanks in advance for the advice!

Offline T Shirt Farmer

Re: Changing to waterbased...
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2017, 11:11:26 AM »
does you shop print a lot of blended fabrics, colors of fabric that don't discharge well like Kelly Green, Purple and Royal, need to have accurate PMS match for corporate colors etc....if so WB more than likely is not for you...iof you can live with the above than WB is really amazing and awesome to work with after you learn about 2 dozen things that differ from plastisol.  JMO
Robert
allpremiums.com
Your Source for Decorated Apparel.

Offline ericheartsu

• Gonzo Member
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2017, 11:13:23 AM »