Author Topic: Faded Look  (Read 2683 times)

Offline cleveprint

• !!!
Faded Look
« on: February 07, 2017, 10:59:39 AM »
Hey all. Im trying to replicate a look for a customer that they had printed previously someplace else. Super simple artwork that has a faded look to it. I attached some pics. When looking at some of their sample shirts, the fades seemed pretty consistent from shirt to shirt, so I feel like their previous printer had it done in the artwork, not on press. My question would be how to get the faded look without halftones. I don't think that a dot pattern would replicate this look very well. Maybe a vector type filter, but then the edges of the fade would get to hard.

My other thoughts were to just go waterbase on a 305 and give it a light print, but the consistency might not be there. Im by no means an artist, the creative side of my brain does not work! Thanks in advance.

Offline Ross_S

Re: Faded Look
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2017, 12:07:27 PM »
Are those the samples they gave you to match?  I mean come on those look old as hell they got holes.  That could of been a black print or dark grey that eventually faded out from washing and sun exposure or something similar.  Point is are you sure they are just not asking for a soft print with a similar distress filter?

Offline cleveprint

• !!!
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2017, 12:13:09 PM »
they are actually a custom shirt. some company literally shoots them with buckshot. they are actually pretty cool. the sample pic that i uploaded is of an unworn shirt.

but yes, essentially I'm trying for a soft print with a similar distress. i guess my question is how to get a similar distress.

Offline Homer

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2017, 12:49:45 PM »
they are actually a custom shirt. some company literally shoots them with buckshot. they are actually pretty cool. the sample pic that i uploaded is of an unworn shirt.