Author Topic: Setting up remote access  (Read 1667 times)

Offline ericheartsu

• Gonzo Member
Setting up remote access
« on: June 07, 2016, 11:12:07 AM »
Is anyone here a computer wizard, that I could pay to help us set up our network, so that I can access our server and computers from our house, which is outside of the network?

We run all Macs, except for our main server, which is running Windows Server 2012. We have a static IP at the shop, but cannot get one at our house.

Night Owls
Waterbased screen printing and promo products.
www.nightowlsprint.com 281.741.7285

Offline Doug S

• Gonzo Member
Re: Setting up remote access
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2016, 11:16:03 AM »
I'm no expert by any means but we used to use "Gotomypc"  it was a little slow but with a fast internet connection it should work wonders.  I'm assuming they've built the software for macs
It's not a job if you love doing it.

Offline ericheartsu

• Gonzo Member
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2016, 11:20:56 AM »
not really wanting to do a gotomypc/team viewer option, but thank you for the suggestion!
Night Owls

Offline jvanick

• !!!
  • Gonzo Member
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2016, 11:30:57 AM »
the term you're looking for here is VPN. 

with a Static IP at the shop, you should be able to find a local IT consultant who can help you set your 2012 server up to act as a vpn server which your remote computers (with a bit of effort) can connect to.

your other option would be to set up a remote access server of some sort on a mac mini... however, I've never heard of anybody doing this.

Offline ericheartsu

• Gonzo Member
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2016, 11:40:56 AM »
the term you're looking for here is VPN. 

with a Static IP at the shop, you should be able to find a local IT consultant who can help you set your 2012 server up to act as a vpn server which your remote computers (with a bit of effort) can connect to.