Author Topic: Processes to speed pre/post production  (Read 1143 times)

Offline jvieira

Processes to speed pre/post production
« on: July 29, 2015, 08:03:35 PM »
Hi guys, newbie here! I run a small auto shop in Portugal and we have been struggling to speed up our pace. We currently have more work than we can handle but I feel there's a lot we can cut time on as we're not very effective (we're learning as we go).
The business is 10 years old but we've been doing screen printing in house for 9 months now. It's been a painful process but we're getting there!

I would like to ask about processes in pre production AND post production and some help to make sure we're doing all the right things and to know if there's anything we can improve on.

Right now we have 2 people doing everything (file prep, pre production, production, post production, etc) but it's not working anymore as we can't keep up with the orders. Starting August we'll have one dedicated person to prepping files and we're making changes as well to other people's job.

OUR PROCESS (starting August 1st)

- Person A preps files, prints screen positives

- Person B already has screens prepped with emulsion. Burns the screen, dips it in the dip tank for a few minutes and washes it out
- Person B runs a wet/dry vacuum on the burned screen and puts it in the dry box where it'll dry for 20/30 minutes
- Person B picks up the screen and preps the press. Runs job

- Person C disassembles the press after job is done, cards out the ink, removes tape, puts screen in reclaiming area
- Person C puts screen in the dip tank and washes it out, followed by wet/dry vacuum and leaves the screen to dry in open air while repeating on other screens
- Person C puts emulsion on a bunch of screens and puts them in the dry box waiting for new use (3/5 days)
- Person C removes dry screens (with emulsion) from the dry box and saves it in a dedicated closet for person B to repeat his own process

- REPEAT